Welcome to the Business Wire Newsroom

News, media contacts, upcoming events and resources

Business Wire on Twitter

We're making #earnings season a breeze. Securely store & transfer regulatory files w/ just a few clicks:… https://t.co/EMLmmRa2EF-14 hours 6 min ago
. Stylebook adding singular ‘they’ https://t.co/JJVfTAk3ai #APStyle #writing #PRtips #PRpros… https://t.co/EBCEWCyaSn-17 hours 9 min ago
Who Wins and Who Loses in 's Falling Out With #Brands https://t.co/DZgahIzMW1 #marketing #marketers… https://t.co/Zt6PiWIyuk-17 hours 12 min ago

PRSA Houston Monthly Chapter Meeting

SPEAKER: SERENA EHRLICH, DIRECTOR OF SOCIAL AND EVOLVING MEDIA, BUSINESS WIRE

Category:

From:
Wednesday, February 1, 2017 12:30 pm EST (11:30 am CST, 10:30 am MST, 9:30 am PST)
To:
Wednesday, February 1, 2017 2:15 pm EST (1:15 pm CST, 12:15 pm MST, 11:15 am PST)
Duration: 1 Hour, 45 Minutes

Location:

Houston Racquet Club
10709 Memorial Drive
Houston, TX, 77024
United States
See map: Google Maps

Speaker(s):

Serena Ehrlich

SERENA EHRLICH, DIRECTOR OF SOCIAL AND EVOLVING MEDIA, BUSINESS WIRE

In the last 25 years, Serena Ehrlich has worked to provide guidance on investor relations, public relations and overall consumer behavior relations trends. Ehrlich started her career in advertising, where she developed an understanding of branding from a large-scale perspective, but she credits her 17 years in the newswire industry for placing her at the forefront of the technical, sociological and influential revolution changing the face of today’s customer communications.

Prior to rejoining Business Wire in 2013, Ehrlich designed and implemented successful local, national and international social, mobile and traditional marketing campaigns for brands including Kraft, Kohl’s, Avon, Mattel, Mogreet and more. A ’91 graduate of Brandeis University with a B.A. in History, Ehrlich was named one of the 2013 Top 25 Women in Mobile to Watch by Mobile Marketer. Follow her on Twitter at @serena.

Description:

PR AND INFLUENCER MARKETING: PLAYING NICE IN THE SANDBOX

Nowadays, it isn't just bloggers you need to reach; it’s Twitter stars, Pinterest mavens and Instagrammers with thousands of followers. This new breed of "influencer" is changing the world of public relations. Join us Wednesday, February 1, 2017, as Serena Ehrlich, Business Wire’s Director of Social and Evolving Media, discusses why PR pros need to get past the paid content discussion and move to the driver's seat in influencer marketing.  

Identifying and Activating Influencers - 5 Takeaways from Business Wire’s Serena Ehrlich as we look at the role of influencers in the PR and marketing program.

1. Be realistic. Be honest about who your existing and desired, aspirational audience are. Too much emphasis on the brand you want to be vs. the brand you are will lead to failed influencer programming.

2. Be your influencer. One of the biggest misconceptions is that a company must go outside their own walls to find influencers. A strong employee advocacy program can be extremely beneficial and much less costly to implement.

3. Be broad. Identify all the different audiences of your product and find influencers for each one. Rather than focus on one influencer, consider what motivates each of your audience segments and find an influencer to match each one. This allows you to reach an overall wider audience, each motivated by something different.

4. Be varied. Visual fluency is at an all-time high but smart brands create content in all formats. Ask influencers to share your information in the format that best fits their channel. Create text, visual, video and interactive content to ensure your customer can choose the format they prefer to learn in.

5. Be realistic. Influencer marketing is now considered pay-for-play programming. Clarify your business goals, and use that to determine what is expected of each influencer, how you will track the output to you goal and plan to compensate appropriately.