Business Wire

WEBINAR: Meet The Hispanic Media Features Panel

Category:

From:
Thursday, October 4, 2012 1:00 pm EDT (12:00 pm CDT, 11:00 am MDT, 10:00 am PDT)
To:
Thursday, October 4, 2012 2:00 pm EDT (1:00 pm CDT, 12:00 pm MDT, 11:00 am PDT)
Duration: 1 Hour

Registration Details:

This webinar is FREE for all attendees

Location:

GoToMeeting
United States
See map: Google Maps

Speaker(s):

Claudia Solís, Chief Editor, Efe News Services                         

Claudia has been the Managing Editor in Servicio Hispano, the premier product of EFE News that focuses exclusively on US Latinos, for the past 8 years. Servicio Hispano sets the agenda for the Latino media covering the Hispanic community in the US from entertainment to immigration, including sports, features, education, politics, community and much more. As a leader for Servicio Hispano, Claudia manages and trains nearly all of the correspondents in order to guarantee that their stories fulfill the quality standards of the agency, not just with Spanish grammar and style, but also looking for new voices, emerging topics, and exploring angles in coordination with the photo and video departments. She is also a blogger for MSN Latino about motherhood and worked as an editor for Business Affairs in an online publication and is the Communication Executive for Banco Santander Central Hispano in Lima, Peru.

Marissa Rodriguez, Editorial Director, Vista Magazine

Marissa Rodriguez is an editor, writer, blogger, and strategic content development professional specializing in reaching and engaging U.S. Hispanics. As the editor of Vista Magazine, Rodriguez directs content for the 27-year-old magazine, and oversaw a successful redesign of the title effectively integrating multiple platforms and refocusing on the issues important to contemporary U.S. Latinas. The new Vista is a modern resource guide empowering Latinas to live the good life made simple. She was also formerly the editor of Hispanic Magazine, and worked on PODER Magazine, Hispanic Trends Magazine, and others. Rodriguez has worked in the magazine industry for more than 10 years. She has a Master’s Degree from the University of Missouri School of Journalism, and a Bachelor’s Degree from Trinity University.

Carolyn Salazar, Lifestyle Editor, Fox News Latino

Carolyn Salazar is the Lifestyle editor at Fox News Latino, where she edits and manages the lifestyle section and helps edit the website. She has worked at The Miami Herald, The Bergen Record in Jersey and the New York Post, covering everything from crime to politics to investigative stories. She was a former Journalist of the Year in New Jersey and was part of a Pulitzer Prize winning team while at the Herald.

Nina Terrero, Web Producer, NBC Latino

Nina Terrero is a web producer who is passionate about social issues, health, education, discovering untold stories among U.S. Latinos and exploring Latino culture through food, literature, theatre and the arts. She holds a B.A. in Government from Cornell University. She is also a graduate of Columbia University's Graduate School of Arts & Science, where she received an M.A. in Political Science. Nina is of Puerto Rican and Dominican heritage. She worked at ABC News as a digital reporter before joining the team at NBC Latino. Feel free to ask her about the latest films, urban political policy, curly hair products or her most recent forays in cooking and eating around New York City.

Moderators:       

Danny Selnick - Vice President, LatinoWire & Public Policy Services, Business Wire DC

Pilar Portela - Media Relations Supervisor & LatinoWire Media Relations Representative, Business Wire Miami

Description:

Hear from a panel of reporters who cover the entertainment, lifestyle and other feature news items for some of the most important Hispanic media in theUnited States. You’ll learn about what they cover, deadlines, and how to make your news stand out to capture their attention. Finally, the panel will discuss how their own newsrooms are delivering news in the digital age.