Business Wire

SAN FRANCISCO: The 24-hour News Cycle and the Evolving Newsroom

Media Breakfast
From:
Wednesday, November 14, 2012 11:30 am EST (10:30 am CST, 9:30 am MST, 8:30 am PST)
To:
Wednesday, November 14, 2012 1:30 pm EST (12:30 pm CST, 11:30 am MST, 10:30 am PST)
Duration: 2 Hours

Registration Details:

This event is FREE and there is no RSVP deadline. Please RSVP to SFRSVP@businesswire.com.

Location:

The Commonwealth Club of California
595 Market Street
San Francisco, CA, 94105
United States
See map: Google Maps

Speaker(s):

Christopher Noble     

 

Assistant Managing Editor/International, Market Watch

Christopher is MarketWatch’s assistant managing editor for news. He is responsible for daily coverage of corporate, political, financial and economic news with a staff of about 20 journalists in 5 U.S. bureaus. Christopher has been a journalist for more than 20 years, having reported on stories including the launch of the single European currency, the U.S.-led bombing campaign in Kosovo and the scandal over pedophilia in the Catholic church. Christopher joined MarketWatch in July 2004 as a markets reporter covering the after-hours trading session and other U.S. stock market action. He was promoted to assignment editor in early 2005 and then to assistant managing editor later that year. He came to MarketWatch from Reuters, where he worked for 11 years, most of them in Paris. Christopher work has appeared in The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, The International Herald Tribune, The New York Daily News and American Photo magazine. Christopher earned a bachelor’s degree and a master’s degree in journalism from Columbia University.

Mike Isaac

Senior Editor, AllThingsD

Mike covers the social web and its biggest players, including Facebook, Twitter and Google. He comes to All Things Digital most recently as a staff writer from Wired, where, among many other things, he spent most of his time writing about Google’s mobile and social efforts. From 2010 to 2012, his coverage at WIRED included the decline and fall of HP’s mobile empire, Google’s surprise acquisition of Motorola Mobility and Facebook’s steady trudge towards IPO-hood. Previous to that, he wrote on the business of tech for Forbes magazine and Forbes.com. His work has also appeared in Paste Magazine, Performer Magazine, DNR Magazine and The Washington Examiner. Mike holds a degree in English Literature from the University of California at Berkeley, and is a former Georgetown University journalism fellow.

Alex Wellins

Co-Founder and Managing Director, The Blueshirt Group

Alex has more than 25 years of investor relations, media relations and corporate communications experience. After earning his B.A. from the University of Michigan, he spent his first years on the west coast providing marketing communications counsel to emerging Silicon Valley software startups. Alex then spent five years at Morgen-Walke Associates focusing on financial media relations then transitioned to manage investor relations programs for the largest group of technology clients at the firm. Alex has been a strategic advisor on the IPOs of many Internet, software and digital media companies and has participated in numerous high-profile M&A transactions in the technology sector.

Louise Kehoe

Senior Vice President, U.S. Technology Practice, Ogilvy

Louise leads Ogilvy PR’s West Coast technology practice. She joined the agency in 2006 and specializes in media strategy, executive positioning and corporate messaging as well as crisis communications. In her PR work Louise draws upon her many years of experience as a journalist, including 22 years at the Financial Times, where she led the international newspaper’s coverage of the technology sector.  She established the FT’s editorial presence in California in the early 1980s and went on to become a highly respected journalist in her field throughout the technology industry’s booms and busts.

 

Moderator: Chris Metinko, Media Relations Specialist, Business Wire

Description:

The emergence of the internet, blogging and social media has led to the elimination of deadlines in the news cycle. Newsrooms, as well as media and investor relations, have changed. This event provides a look at the modern news cycle and the effects these changes have had on the timing of news and the accuracy of reporting, and on what those industries stress. The panel includes journalists as well as IR and public-relations professionals.